top of page

Your relationship is as successful as you expect...

We are all the common denominators in our failed relationships. I've been thinking a bit lately on why my ex's cheated on me and how I can prevent that in the future. Today, something finally clicked inside me. I always talk about how the universe only gives you what you focus your attention on, and I still believe this more than ever. I always had trust issues with my ex's, even when they didn't give me a reason to. I started to think about why I've always been that way. I believe the reason I have these trust issues is because of my childhood. When I was 10 years old my parents got a divorce. My dad had been cheating on my mom. From that point forward all I heard was how men couldn't be trusted and women were just as shady. This was drilled into my head ever since. I believe it has had a big impact on me and my relationships. As soon as I start dating someone new, in the back of my mind I always have this impending sense of doom. I enjoy the relationship for as long as I can but deep inside I know it will end one day. I would always go into these relationships with the end in mind. I would expect the worst out of them. The past two guys I have dated ended up cheating on me, but I can't help but to think that maybe they did this because I attracted it to myself. If I go into a situation with the expectation of betrayal or heartbreak then of course it will happen. I'm putting out negative energy for the future. The universe is only giving me what I'm focused on. That's not to say that their actions are entirely my fault. People make their own decisions and should be held responsible for them, but I have to take responsibility for my part as well. Just because my father cheated on my mother doesn't mean that people can't be trusted. I am my own testimony to that. I've never cheated on anybody and I know that I never will. There are still trustworthy people in the world. I am making a vow to myself today that I will expect nothing but faithfulness and success in my relationship. I started dating someone new in January and it's been really great so far. He's a good man and we are wonderful together. I refuse to mess this one up because of the things I've seen in my past. I expect love, trust, and prosperity from this point forward. My past will no longer define my future. Our relationships are only as successful as we expect them to be!

-Kenzie Llama-


bottom of page